Sao del Coster, I Want Candy in DOQ Priorat

166/365 – Catalonia – DOQ Priorat – Gratallops – Sao del Coster – Pim Pam Poom 2013

I Want Candy……,

Just about how this wine acts in the nose!

Just about how this wine acts in the nose!

…… candy’s just what the doctor ordered! I have been close so many times, close to try this young Priorat by the fantastic name Pim Pam Poom! At the Vinum Nature fair earlier this year in Barcelona I almost reached it, but got cut off by a longer tasting at another stand. Then again, I was on my way to visit the winery of Sao del Coster but……., again, something came in my way! Yesterday, during the second day of the Temps de Vi wine fair in Vilanova i La Geltru I finally got to spend some quality time at the stand of Sao del Coster and I enjoyed the fresh, young, very candy like Pim Pam Poom! Two thirds, of the professional team of the project, Xavier and Michelle were there and really took their time to explain their wines, in and out! I promise I’ll visit the cellar and give you the full story in due time!

pimpam

Pim Pam Poom, 100% Garnacha

Very light cherry red color of low intensity. Nose is full of violet flowers and red fruits (strawberry, plum) but also some sweet red licorice and candy, candy, candy! Just like gummy bears. The palate is light, it has little weight and it is easy, fresh and persistent wine. This is a wine that can be drunk at any time, without any complications. Some might call this a wine for beginners….., I’d rather call it a cut-off wine for those that have had to many glasses of heavy reds! Certainly a wine I’m going to have at home, at all times! Enjoy!

Three other labels by Sao del Coster!

Three other labels by Sao del Coster!

213 to go!

Catalan Wine 365 and the SweetEasy Lifestyle

Leave a Reply

