Gran Clos, Should I Stay or Should I Go, DOQ Priorat

283/365 – Catalonia – DOQ Priorat – Bellmunt del Priorat – Gran Clos – Finca el Puig 2004

Should I Stay or Should I Go………,

……., darling (the wine) you’ve got to let me know….., should I stay or should I go? If you say that you are mine, I’ll be here to the end of time, so you’ve got let me know……, should I stay or should I go? It’s always tease tease tease….., you’re happy when I’m on my knees, one day it’s white, the next it’s red! And today it’s red and there’s no indecision that’s bugging me! Time for Super Catalan wine! Should I stay or should I go? I’ll stay and take the consequences! Enjoy life and the Catalan Sweet & Easy Lifestyle!

Finca el PuigFinca el Puig 2004, Garnacha, Cabernet Sauvignon and Syrah

A wine that  is well-defined and bright. Almost opaque, intense red-purple hue, almost like a dark dark ruby jewel. Intensely aromatic and complex with hints of fresh, ripe red and black fruit, wild forest herbs, mineral and balsamic notes. Warm and fresh and in perfect balance. Well-balanced taste with a big structure and texture of fruits, delicate and ripe tannins and well-integrated wood with medium-high acidity. Explosive fruit on the palate complements the complex aromatic expression of the nose with hints of licorice, wild herbs and minerals. Long and very aromatic finish. This is not a wine you’d drink every day nor is it a non food wine, so for best experience make sure you’ve got something nice to eat with it! A grilled piece of well seasoned meat, especially beef and lamb and please keep it rare or at least medium-rare. Wouldn’t mind to have it with Serrano ham and especially Jabugo. Classy wine and another Super Catalan to add to the scrolls!

vineyard2.jpg.pagespeed.ce.-PgS4coJKI

Vines, like people, often reach their peak in the face of adversity. This highly limited cuvée is hand made from 100-year-old vines that suffer daily to survive in dense slate soils on steep hillsides. Their fruit offers a unique mineral complexity that could come from no other place on earth and has done so since Carthusian monks first planted vines in Priorat in the 12th century (Priorat is the Catalan word for ‘priory’). Welcome to my world!

101 to go!

One thought on “Gran Clos, Should I Stay or Should I Go, DOQ Priorat

Leave a Reply

