11th D.O. at Hostal Sport, Nothing But A Miracle in DOQ Priorat

366/365 – Catalonia – DOQ Priorat – Tasting in Falset – Hotel Hostal-Sport – Vall Llach Porrera Vi de Vila 2010

Nothing But A Miracle…….,

576_1401435412650_Vall_Llach_Porrera_vi_vila_2010_horitzVall Llach Porrera Vi de Vila 2010, 70% Carignena and 30% Garnacha

Lovely, lively purplish color, medium intensity, with ruby edges. The primary aromas are those of mature fruit, very concentrated and intense. Ripe plum, not too jammy, more like a mix of violets and plum. The secondary aromas show a story that is intricate, developing into a range of aging notes, toasty notes, cedar wood and tobacco. Once on the palate it divulges its true color, great balance, sweet and fresh. Good acidity, not at all aggressive and with a great body. Very delicate and elaborated in the best possible way, the alcohol content, which is within the ¨normal standard¨ for the region, is not perceived at all. Very easy to drink and a huge and long finish! Complex, evolving and elegant!

DSC_0637Of the six wines tasted the past Sunday at Hotel Hostal Sport in Falset, I had to pick the Vall Llach. All the wines were superb but if had to made due with only one, this would be it. Always following my personal taste compared to the content of my wallet. So yes, there were other wines at this fine tasting that are, in one way or the other, better than the above mentioned, but quite frankly I don’t believe they were worth the buck! Another day, another tasting. This one marking the 11th of the 12 that were planned, only one remaining, covering Montsant will take place in January. Looking forward to that while I continue to discover more excellent wines from Catalonia!

The purpose of the tasting was to show the possibilities and differences that the DOQ Priorat offers. As the villages within the appellation have their own microclimates and that certainly affects the grapes and it was demonstrated in the best possible way, through tasting wines from different villages. Therefor all the wines have the addition of Vi de la Vila or Vi de Vila on the label. The Vall Llach is from the village of Porrera and the other five wines were;

From La Morera de Montsant, Conreria d’Scala Dei, Black Slate Vi de Vila ¨La Morera¨Blanc 2013,  91% Garnacha Blanca and 9% Pedro Ximénez

From Torroja del Priorat, Cal Batllet Marc Ripoll Sans, Vi de la Vila Torroja, Roncavall 2011, 100% Carignena

From La Vilella Alta, Bodegas Mas Alta, Vi de Vila Les Bassetes Collita 2012, 100% Carignena

From Bellmunt del Priorat, Cellers Fuentes, Vi de Vila Gran Clos 2003, 54% Garnacha, 33% Carignena and 13% Cabernet Sauvignon

From Gratallops, Clos Mogador, Vi de Finca Qualificada Clos Mogador 2012, 49% Garnacha, 25% Carignena, 10% Cabernet Sauvignon and 16% Syrah

DSC_0619

With todays wine I am passing the 365 marker but there are still some days remaining of the year, so I’ll continue another 19 days before it’s time to take a break. The idea to write about wines from Catalonia came to mind during October 2013 and since then I started planning. The plan has worked out well so far, and if it hadn’t been for the initial time spent traveling, visiting cellars and tasting wines; none of this would have been achievable. So how does it work in reality, and what do the numbers mean? During my first year and a half here in Catalonia, I travelled a lot and visited numerous cellars, met with winemakers, Catalans in general, and I tasted, tasted and tasted a whole lot of wine. I took notes and I took photos.

wine tasting notes

During the 346 days that I have been writing so far, I have also continued to drive crisscross through the Catalan countryside and the different appellations. I have visited fairs, gatherings of wine lovers and I have continued with receiving groups and individuals from all over the world to show the magic of the world of wine in Catalonia. Once a month I try to participate in a selected tasting of wine from one particular appellation. I have learned so much, about Catalonia. Not only about the wines, but also the history, the food, and the wonderful small villages and regions of this, in my opinion, amazing land.

catalan-wine-365-new11

The number 366/365, indicates how many wines I have tasted and written about. In reality I have, during 2014, tried more than 1.200 wines. That might sound a lot, but I know professionals that taste that number during a couple of months. Look at it this way. If you during a weekend visit a wine fair with, let’s say 50 producers and each display, in average, 4 wines, you are able to, in theory, try 200 wines. That’s one weekend and there are 52 in a year! Sure, you’ll have to have some off days as well, just sayin’. But there’s certainly time enough to taste wine! Off course, not all the wines that I have tried have been to my liking, but I have kept it simple and decided to only write about the ones that I do like. Hope you have enjoyed this attempt to share the beauty of Catalonia and Catalan wine, and let’ see what happens next year?

19 to go!

Catalan Wine 365 and SweetEasy Wine Tours

2 thoughts on “11th D.O. at Hostal Sport, Nothing But A Miracle in DOQ Priorat

  1. Hola Sinisa!

    I enjoyed it every evening, thank you very much for the wonderful wines and the nice storys behind them. I am looking forward for the next days…..

    My wines of the night, both from Gratallops: Les Terrasses 1994 from Alvaro Palacios – the last bottle of the wine who started my love to the Priorat in 1996. Wonderful and in best condition; and
    Planassos 2009 from Sao del Coster, Bottle Nr. 262 from 620, 100% Carinena, what a perfect wine.
    I´m a happy men 🙂

    Best regards

    • Good evening my wine lonving friend! First of all, thank you for the very nice comment and also for reading my blog, I am happy that you enjoy it and I hope that I have been able to entice you to try even more wines from Catalonia! You are indeed a very happy man with those kind of wines in your hand! I have tried Les Terasses at a wine tasting once, it was wonderful! I haven´t tried the Planassos yet but I did try it from the barrel during my last visit at Sao del Coster and I think it is going to be a great vintage once they decide to release it! Have a great evening and continue to follow me the few days that are left of this year! Kindest Regards/Sinisa

Leave a Reply

